THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Welcome To My World: BLOG INTRO March 27, 2010

This is my first post and I kept thinking of what I was going to write, but that never really works out, planning ahead that is, so I’m just going to go with it. I don’t have much time, so I’ll make it short and sweet. I’m no newbie to blogging, but honestly, I’ve been writing more in my journal at home these days than on my e-blogs. This is by no means saying that I’m going to get rid of my hard-copy journals–not a chance. But I would like to give my journal (and my wrist) a little break. So bear with me on this. I’d love to promise that I’ll write everyday, but as most people who know me can vouch for, I totally suck with plans.

Anyways, I figured this could be a good time to clear my head, write down all my thoughts. I have a thing with music, so if I occasionally throw in some song lyrics and my thoughts–don’t be surprised. And as for my thoughts–I won’t lie. I’m the type of person who says how I feel, good or bad. Most of the time I speak before I think, which isn’t always exactly a good thing, but that’s just me. I’m honest. I’m blunt. I usually have no tact whatsoever. I’m just warning you. If you read my blog, you better be prepared for some real, raw stuff.

A little background on me: I’m 22, born and raised in a small town in upstate New York. I’m currently on a leave of absence from Colgate University. (I really need to get my behind in gear and get back to school lol). I took a little break because I needed to figure a few things out for myself. Mainly, what I wanted out of life, instead of what everyone else wanted for me. Ironically, before I left Colgate, I was majoring in Geology. Yes, that means rocks and dirt. Don’t get me wrong, I still love science and wouldn’t mind the occasional digging for fossils or take a 4 mile hike across solidified lava. (P.S. I went on a class trip my senior year to the Big Island of Hawaii. Let’s just say that if I had the chance, I’d have stayed there forever.) But my real love is writing. So I changed my major to Journalism. I want to write. I have all these stories and books in my head, if only I could find the time to actually sit down and put them all on paper. Everyone asks what I want to do with the writing–honestly, I don’t want to pick just one thing. I want to write a few books, I know that much. Maybe even do some reporting overseas in third-world-countries, that kind of thing. Or having my own column in some newspaper. I guess I want a little bit of everything. Another thing about me, I can never quite make up my mind. I hate making decisions. I guess we’ll just have to see where life takes me, whether it’s reporting from the front line halfway around the world, or sharing my thoughts with the world–who knows. Life is all about the ride.

Okay, so that’s pretty much me. In a nutshell anyway. I could write pages and pages, but as I said before, I’m kind of short on time. Until next time.

xoxo,
MESSIE

 

Leave a Reply

