Signed, The Bottom Line….

Another lyrics post…yes.

Artist: Carrie Underwood
Track: “Change”

Verse:
What’cha gonna do with the 36 cents
sticky with Coke on your floorboard.
When a woman on the street is huddled in the cold
on a sidewalk vent trying to keep warm.
Do you call her over, hand her the change,
ask her a story, ask her her name.
Or do you tell yourself…

Chorus:
You’re just a fool.
Just a fool–
to believe you can change the world.
You’re just a fool.
Just a fool–
to believe you can change the world.

Verse:
What’cha gonna do when you’re watching t.v.,
and an ad comes on,
yeah, you know the kind.
Flashin’ up pictures of a child in need–
for a dime a day, you can save a life.
Do you call the number, reach out a hand.
Or do you change the channel, call it a scam.
Or do you tell yourself…

Verse:
Oh the smallest thing can make all the difference.
Love is alive.
Don’t listen to them when they say…

The world’s so big, it could break your heart.
And you just wanna help–
not sure where to start.
So you close your eyes,
send up a prayer into the dark.

You’re not just a fool.
Not just a fool–
to believe you can change the world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Why the song choice, you might ask. Well, I guess I’m just in one of my “whimsical” moods–which simply means that I’m having one of my spur-of-the-moment, on-a-whim episodes-thingies. They’re a typical every-day thing for me so you’ll just have to bear with me on this. So what it is this week? The Peace Corps. Totally random, I know–but that’s me. Irrational, illogical, and nonsensical. Oh well.

Anyhow, I think that I want to join the Peace Corps. Crazy, not really, no. It’s not one of my typical spur-of-the-moment decisions. I’ve been thinking about it for a while now. A long while. Years actually. It’s just something that I’ve wanted to do for a very long time, for as long as I can remember. For the record, I’m not crazy. Saying that I want to join the Peace Corps is (as far as I’m concerned) no different than if I were to say that I wanted to join the military. Granted, they’re two completely different things, but still. I think the only reason that I wouldn’t join the military is for the simple fact that I don’t take authority that well. I don’t like being told what to do, and I definitely don’t like people yelling in my face while they do so either. I’d be the first to admit that I wouldn’t be able to make it through basic training. Not at all. People have said that you get used to it–but I’d rather not test that theory. Even if I didn’t have issues with authority figures, I still don’t think I’d sign up. It’s not that I’m against the military, or the principles that each branch stands for. I have a lot of respect for the soldiers, home and overseas, that are putting their lives on the line in defense of their country. I really do. But there’s so much going on in that arena that–to put it simply–I don’t agree with. I’m no political expert, but I know enough to know that there are things happening that should NOT be happening. Not just overseas, but domestic as well.

I remember the events of 9/11. I remember exactly where I was when I heard the news–in my high school math class. I remember that so many people were talking about it in hushed tones. The teacher didn’t give a lesson that day. I remember going to my next class–Spanish. Walking down the hall, it was so quiet. Every class that I passed had a TV in the front of the room, lights off–everyone’s eyes glued to the screen, expressions somber and stunned. I remember my class did the same. That entire period, I remember just staring at the TV screen in total disbelief. The horrifying images–it all seemed so surreal. Like a dream. It didn’t seem real. Over and over the media played video of the towers falling–each time seeing it being more horrible than the previous time. The footage that really struck me was the video of people running away–dust-covered faces filled with disbelief and confusion. They all just looked so lost. And so broken. Like they didn’t have a clue as to what was happening. I don’t think anyone did. I remember the footage the TV stations played in the weeks that followed 9/11. They were even worse. The stories, the names, the devastation–it was heartbreaking. For the first time, I remember being proud to be an American. On that day, the nation came together as one. Whether you lost someone you knew personally that day or not–it made no difference. Every citizen was grieving. Everyone suffered a universal loss that day–the loss of feeling safe in your own country. We all saw evil that day. And we saw a lot more in the aftermath that followed.

Like so many others, I was angry. I was furious. The fact that our country had allowed those murderers to take up residence–for years–absolutely amazes me. Hell, we even educated some of them. We still are, if you think about it. I mean, who knows where people like those men are hiding–waiting and planning for another attack. We don’t know. I think that’s a big part of why this country is so screwed up. We’re so concerned with the business of other countries–and with making nice with them–that we’re too damn busy to protect our own people and our own country. It’s pathetic, I think. As for declaring war–I get it. Logically, I know that we had to retaliate. That we had to get some kind of justice for the thousands of lives that were lost. I know that. What I don’t like is the rest of it. I think our intentions were pure. The cause was justified, at first. But somehow–somewhere along the way, we lost sense of what we’d hoped to achieve. What we were fighting for. The cause no longer mattered. The government can say what it will, but I think it’s pretty obvious that our priorities were ignored and forgotten. It all just seems so pointless, at this point in time. I mean, what did we get from it? Thousands more lives have been lost in this supposed pursuit of peace. Billions of dollars have been spent needlessly to rebuild other countries, rather than our own. We killed Bin Laden. That’s great and all, but it doesn’t change much. We can capture or kill terrorists, but for every one terrorist–there’s ten more just like him. I’m sorry, but it’s true. World peace is a joke. There will always be conflict. Always. No matter what we do, how much money we spend, or how many countries’ asses we kiss–or kick for that matter–there’s always going to be evil lurking somewhere. Everywhere.

So yeah, there’s my thoughts on that. I think the Peace Corps is different. That it’s worthwhile. And it actually makes a difference. That’s what I want to do. I want to make a difference. I want my life to actually mean something, you know. To say that I did something. Anything. I can’t change the world. I know that. I’m a realist. I’m just one voice in a sea of millions. But I can do something. I have to at least try. At least.

Anyhow, before I’m officially declared insane and flighty…I don’t plan on signing up tomorrow or anything. But maybe…in a few years. I have school and I’m determined to actually finish this time. I owe it to myself…and to everyone else. Admittedly, I am flighty. And impulsive. And I swear I’m a little ADHD at times. I hate being in one place. I get bored easily. As anyone who knows me could tell you…I have a tendency to make sudden, rash decisions. Simply put…I do first, think later. So joining the Peace Corps on a whim–it’s definitely something that I would do. But I’ve been working really hard lately to put a little bit of a reign on my impulsive behavior, so to speak. I’ve grown up a little. I have responsibilities here. I have to finish school. Get my degree. After that…I can play all I want. Figuratively speaking, that is. So that’s my plan. Degree first. Then Peace Corps. In wanting to be a journalist, I’ve always imagined traveling to third-world countries and seeing what life is really like for the rest of the world…and writing about it. I want to write about the truth. I mean, it’s easy to write about the pretend. I can easily write fiction all day long…no problem. But I want to write about real things, too. I want to see everything from both sides–from all different perspectives. It’s hard to explain, but yeah, that’s what I want. Joining the Corps would be like killing two birds with one stone, so to speak. I’d get to see the world–something I’ve always wanted to do–AND help make a difference. And while I’m doing that–I can write in my free time. It’s a good plan, I think. With the exception of one disadvantage–having to be away from my family and friends for a minimum of two whole years. That’s not a little adjustment…it’s major. So yeah, once I figure how I’m going to handle that–and when I’m ready–I’ll sign up. 🙂

So yeah. Work to be done. Until next time.

xoxo Messie

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

