Birthday Candles…

Happy Birthday…to me!

So its my birthday today. Yep. The big two-five. Well…I’m officially old…a quarter of a century old to be exact. Turning 25–let’s see…any incentives? Not really. Maybe cheaper car insurance, but that’s about it. So yeah, turning 25…honestly…it’s a little disappointing. Boring.

The age thing doesn’t bother me. I don’t get why people get so worked up when it comes to age and getting older. I mean, we all have to get old and die someday, right? Right. As far as turning 25 goes…I guess it’s just a little bittersweet. Bitter–in that I’m not at all close to being where I thought I would be by now. Hell, just the other day I was sorting through my things and came across a box filled with all my old high school journals/diaries and yearbooks. I was looking through my senior yearbook and found my senior will–you know, the part where you predict where you’ll be in ten years from now and whatnot. At the time I wrote it, I’d had it all figured and planned out…or so I thought. It was a foolproof plan…but again…or so I thought. The plan was to go to school, earn my degree, and start on my career right after. I was going to have this amazing job in a field that I loved working in. Then once I did that… then I could focus on the white-picket-fence and starting a family. by then–complete with the loving husband, a couple of kids, and the totally clichéd white picket fence. But of course, nothing ever seems to go as planned in my world.

I started out on the right path. I really did. But somewhere along the way I got turned around and lost somehow. To put it simply…life happened. And all those dreams of mine and well-laid plans got tossed aside. No matter how hard I tried and how much I wanted to, I couldn’t stop life from happening.

But I’ll get there…someday. I know it. Until then, happy birthday to me…..

xoxo

MESSIE

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

