Thank You Taylor Swift…

Cannot believe I’m only just NOW hearing the lyrics to this song, but yeah. It’s called “DEAR JOHN“…and I swear, it’s perfection.

Thank you Taylor Swift…yet again. 🙂

VERSE:

Long were the nights when my days once revolved around you.

Counting my footsteps, praying the floor won’t fall through…again.

And my mother accused me of losing my mind,

But I swore—

I. Was. Fine.

You paint me a BLUE sky and go back and turn it to rain.

And I lived in your chess game, but you changed the rules every day.

Wondering which version of you I might get on the phone tonight.

Well, I stopped picking up and this song is to let you know why…

CHORUS:

Dear John, I see it all now that you’re gone.

Don’t you think I was too young to be messed with?

The girl in the dress, cried the whole way home.

I should’ve known.

VERSE:

Well maybe it’s me and my blind optimism to blame.

Or maybe it’s you and your SICK need to give love and take it away.

And you’ll add my name to your long list of traitors who don’t understand.

And I’ll look back and regret how I ignored them when they said:

“Run as fast as you can.”

Dear John, I see it all now, it was wrong.

Don’t you think [20] is too young to be played by your dark, twisted games…

When I loved you so?

I should’ve known.

VERSE:

You are an expert at sorry.

And keeping lines blurry.

Never impressed by me acing your tests.

All the girls that you run dry with tired, lifeless eyes

’cause you burned them out.

But I took your matches before fire could catch me.

So don’t look now…

I’m shining like fireworks over your sad, empty town.

VERSE:
Dear John, I see it all now that you’re gone.

Don’t you think I was too young to be messed with?

The girl in the dress cried the whole way home.

I see it all now that you’re gone.

Don’t you think I was too young to be messed with?

The girl in the dress wrote you a song.

You should’ve known.

You should’ve known.

Don’t you think I was too young?

You should have known.

I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN…

xoxo

MESSIE

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

