Shut Up And Listen…

I swear, if I hear one more person say that guns are responsible for the tragic events that transpired on Friday or bitch and complain about gun laws and demand more restrictive policies, I’m going to scream. What the hell is wrong with people–using the deaths of 26 innocent lives to platform their damn lobbying…it’s so messed up. I’m dismayed and disgusted by it all, really I am. Twenty children were gunned down…6 and 7 year olds whose only misfortune was that they went to school that day. They didn’t ask for what happened to them. They didn’t ask for that sick bastard to barge into their school and their classrooms and cut their lives short that morning. They were innocent, beautiful little souls who had their entire lives ahead of them. The media have been posting pictures all day and each image is more heartbreaking than the previous one. 20 smiling faces that will be forever etched into the memory of everyone that turned on the TV or sat down to their computer that day, mine included. Each picture just makes me more angry. My anger, however, is NOT with these gun manufacturers or the NRA or lenient license policies and laws. My anger is directed where it should be, which is with the sonofabitch that pulled the trigger in that school that day. It makes me so mad that the ruthless bastard went and killed himself. He got off easy. His death was swift and painless–unlike some of his victims that suffered in those last final minutes and moments of their lives. Maybe it’s a horrible thing to say, but I wish he’d suffered. I wish that he’d had to lie there in his own pool of blood for hours–conscious the entire time–knowing that he was going to die. At least then there would have been some degree of justice for his victims and their families. He should have suffered lying there, plagued by the images of those children he’d shot, with those faces being the last thing he saw before he died. THAT would have been justice. But no, the sick jerk had to be a coward and take his own life. I don’t know if there’s such a thing as Hell, but if there is, I truly hope that he burns in it for the rest of time.

I’m trying to wrap my mind around the fact that something like this could happen–and how someone could do this, but I just can’t. I don’t understand it. I really don’t. Things like this aren’t supposed to happen. 20 first-graders and teachers aren’t supposed to be gunned down in an elementary school. It’s just not right. That there are psychology experts who are going around calling the gunman a victim and redirecting the blame towards the man’s mental health issues–it’s utterly appalling. I don’t care what’s being reported to the contrary…the man knew exactly what he was doing. I’m sure of it. I mean, this wasn’t some sudden or fly by act of violence. It was premeditated. He planned this. We might not know how long he was planning it…and we probably never will. Hell, we’ll probably never know his motive, for that matter. I know that people need answers…and that for some, those answers are all they have right now. To be honest, I could care less about his motive. There’s no reasoning or explanations for what he did. I don’t care if he was off his meds or had some personality disorder like they’re saying. I don’t care if he had a rough childhood or if his parents didn’t love him enough. I don’t care if he was an outcast or a geek in high school and had no friends. I don’t care if he was teased or bullied every day he went to school. I don’t care about any of those things. There’s no excuse that can even remotely come close to whatever his reasons were. None whatsoever. As for those psychologists and so-called experts–they can all shove it. To even suggest that his mental state might not have been stable at the time and THAT’s why he did what we did–is simply not true. He knew what he was doing. He didn’t just snap, like they’re saying. He planned this. He purchased ammunition and protective gear and drove to that school with the horrible intention of killing people. The suggestion that he was insane or irrational when he took 26 innocent lives…is total bs. I mean, come on. He was sane enough when he put on that bulletproof vest so that he wouldn’t get shot when the police arrived. He was sane enough to dress in nondescript clothing and wear a mask so that he couldn’t be seen. As far as I’m concerned, he wasn’t crazy. He was a pathetic and cowardly executioner.

As for these gun control lobbyists and protesters against the NRA–they all need to stop with all the scapegoating. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again…Guns don’t kill people. PEOPLE kill PEOPLE. It’s not the manufacturers fault that the guns they create sometimes end up in the hands of the wrong people. And it’s not the government’s fault that people are cold, heartless murderers who like to use guns as their weapon of choice. Do I agree that some things have to change and gun laws need to be amended–yes. I think it SHOULD be harder to get weapon permits and guns than the law is allows now. I think people’s backgrounds should be checked–thoroughly, that is–before they get the gun handed to them.

I’m not against guns, nor do I hate those that possess any. After all, it’s right there in the Bill of Rights…the freedom to bear arms. We, as citizens in this country, have a right to protect ourselves and our loved ones. Most of the time, that’s what people buy guns and use them for. It’s the select few–the cold-hearted bastards like the gunman in Newtown–that take advantage of that right and use weapons to carry out their evil shows of violence. Those people are the ones these lobbyists should be cracking down on and harassing. It wasn’t the guns that made the gunman do what he did. No one made him do it. For whatever reason, he chose it. He chose to pull the trigger–to steal innocent lives. He wasn’t crazy. He was a cold-blooded murderer. It would have to take a sick bastard like that to walk into an elementary school and gun down a bunch of first-graders. The man had no conscience, clearly. If he had, then he wouldn’t have done this. He wouldn’t have been able to stand there and fire multiple bullets into a 6 or 7 year old’s body. It’s just not human. Those kids did nothing to him. They didn’t deserve to die at his hand. If his life was that worthless and he was that miserable, then he should have just killed himself. He didn’t have to take 26 lives down with him. And the worst part of it all is that this is what he’s going to be remembered for–the man who shot up an elementary school and killed 26 people. He’ll go down in history–everyone will know his name. It’s horrible, but in time, people are eventually going to forget the names and the faces and stolen innocence of these victims. It’s not right. And it’s sure as hell not fair….at all.

shrine memorial for emilie parker

Totally Disgusted,
MESSIE

Leave a Reply

