Loss Is Loss No Matter WHO You Are…

So I came across a post on my news feed on Facebook earlier that kind of rubbed me the wrong way, so to speak…of this guy complaining about the statuses regarding actor Paul Walker’s death over this past weekend. This was the actual post (and I really hope I’m not alone in my frustration over this):

“Oh I didn’t know all of you were that close to Paul Walker. Pathetic, how someone none of you personally knew matters so much, yet all you chicks are ready to kill yourself over it and dudes act like they just lost their big brother.”

Yeah…wow. Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about the 1st amendment and the freedom to voice one’s opinion, but come on…seriously? That’s a bit much, don’t you think? If you ask me, it’s just cold…not to mention just plain rude. I mean, granted some people are going a bit overboard on this…and yes, I too find it a little odd how insanely crushed and heartbroken some fans are claiming to be…not for the fact that I think it’s pathetic–but rather that I think it’s somewhat insulting and offending and it kind of diminishes the suffering of those who actually knew him, you know? I don’t know, that’s just how it feels to me. Still, people mourn and grieve in their own ways and for their own reasons. And nowhere does it say that you can’t be saddened by the loss of someone you never knew or met. After all, I mean, no one thought it strange when fans lined up by the thousands to pay their respects to Elvis and women all over the country cried for weeks…same goes for Princess Diana and the handful of other celebrities that have died so sudden and so tragically over the years. Or for that matter, when the country came together to mourn the lives that were lost on 9/11…or the victims of the Boston Marathon Bombing…or the 26 victims from the Sandy Hook school shooting tragedy. Most people didn’t know those individuals either, but they mourned them nonetheless. So, tell me please, who’s to say or dictate who someone can or cannot grieve over? It just doesn’t seem right.

I was lucky. I didn’t lose a friend or loved one on 9/11, but I sat at my desk and cried along with everyone else in my math class as we watched it all unfold on the TV at the front of the room. They may have been complete strangers, but they were still victims of an unjust attack who didn’t deserve to die that day. Moreover, they were still human beings. They were mothers and fathers and siblings and friends and neighbors. They had families and plans and dreams. They had the rest of their lives ahead of them. Just as those in Boston did. And just as those 20 1st graders and 6 teachers in Newtown, Connecticut did. Paul Walker’s no different. That said, I think it’s just wrong to call people pathetic for well…caring–is essentially what it is. For being sympathetic to the loss of someone they never met. For actually having the ability to empathize and show kindness towards a complete stranger. If you ask me, the only “pathetic” individual here is the one (and those others saying similar things) that complained in the above post, for he must not have a sympathetic, caring bone in his body. And for that, I pity him. I really do.

A man died. He was only 40 years old. He was a father, a son, a brother, a friend…people loved him, respected him, and looked up to him. He loved his family. He loved life. He was kind and charitable. By all accounts, he was a good person. That he was a celebrity and an actor–(and a gorgeous as sin one as well, I might add)–well, that’s not all that he was. Society puts far too much emphasis on fame and celebrity and they cast these individuals as these god-like figures. So in turn, people get too caught up in the glamour and dazzle that they forget that these are just people…individuals like you and I…that just so happen to have a job that pays them millions of dollars. That doesn’t make them superior or invincible…and it certainly doesn’t make them immortal. They live, they breathe, they feel, they love, they hurt, they bleed, they die…just like anyone else.

Personally, I’ve never really bought into the whole Hollywood hype. I’m not sure why really. (Ha you know what…maybe it was that love/fan letter I sent to my very first celeb/heart-throb crush Andrew Keegan when I was like 10 and only got some stupid autographed photo in return that turned me off from it all..LOL.) No, but really, I don’t see what’s so great about being a celebrity and having all that fame…aside from the money, maybe. Even then though–all that lack of privacy and the constant intrusions into your personal life and the press hounding you and paparazzi jumping out from bushes just to snap pics of you in sweats and no makeup…well, call me crazy, but no amount of money in the bank is worth THAT. Not for me, that is. I value my privacy far too much for that.

Anyhow, to the Paul Walker RIP haters…all I have to say is this…if it bothers you so much, then turn off your news feed. Or better yet, ignore the notifications like the rest of us do when we see things we don’t want to read. And while you’re at, you may want to buy a chisel for that ice-cold heart of yours.  Just sayin’…

xoxo MESSIE

Image(© Lyrics Used In Image Manipulation: A Life That’s Good)

Leave a Reply

