Two By Two…

Ehh, so I should be sleeping…but sleep is a rarity these days. Speaking of these days…mine are filled with taking care of the cutest little guys, my twin nephews Jakey and Tyler. They’ll be five months old in a couple of weeks…ALREADY. It’s crazy how fast time flies with the little ones. Sometimes I look at them and I just want to wrap them up in a bubble and keep them this little forever…and then I look at them and can’t wait for them to crawl and walk and talk and do all the things that little boys do. It’s going to be so hard to leave them for Tennessee in December…I know that much. Being with them every day is a blessing…but also a curse, in the sense that I’m already so attached that it’s not even funny. Oh, I love them to pieces.

Moving out here to help my sister with the boys was a good decision. They’re good for my sanity…though as of late, the crankyness might just be contradicting that. 🙂 Still, I’m glad I’m here…and that I can help. My sister’s done so much for me, it’s the least I can do. It helps that my work is freelance, so I can do it from practically anywhere. I’m not going to lie though, it’s hard. Taking care of twins is HARD. One at a time…that’s a piece of cake. But two…honestly…I don’t know how people who have 3 or 4 or 5 or godforbid more multiples do it. Or why you’d want to…but that’s just me. I mean, I love these little guys like they were my own…but they’re a handful. They sure are the sweetest little things though.

Ty…he’s my little guy. My “little monkey”, I call him. I know it’s wrong to have “favorites”…but he’s such a little cuddler and lover that it’s hard not to. All I have to do is look or talk to him and his whole face lights up with the biggest smile. And I swear that when he coos, he’s saying “love you”…it’s the cutest thing. It drives my sister nuts actually because she’ll sit there with him and plead with him to say “love you, love you” and he’ll just look at her like she’s gone nuts…then I’ll sit down and go to Ty, “say I love you JoJo” and he’ll smile and coo it. It’s hilarious. And so sweet.

Jakey’s a little sweetheart, too though. He’s the smaller twin…but he’s a little fighter. The kid’s got a temper already, for sure. And he’s spoiled…big time. He loves being held and if you put him down…well, prepare yourself for a headache. He likes to cuddle too though…and giggle. He giggles constantly…at everything. It’s like the whole world is funny to him or something. His smile is infectious so you can’t help but giggle along with him.

I love how different their personalities are though. It’s incredible. I mean, Ty is more laid-back and quiet. Jake is anything but. Ty’s content just sitting in his monkey swing, talking to the monkeys on the mobile or the fishies in the fish tank next to him in the swing. Jake, on the other hand, won’t sit still…literally. During feedings and him growling at the bottle, I have to sit there and keep rearranging him in the car-seat because he wiggles and squirms so much that he practically gets himself out of it…though where he thinks he’s going when he gets out of it is beyond me. 🙂 He’s the younger twin, by a whole minute, but he’s definitely going to be the instigator. I can picture it already…him trying to pull Ty into doing something they shouldn’t. Oh, my sister and brother-in-law are in for it, I know it. I’m happy for them though…they’re such good parents and they made two pretty perfect babies.

I know that leaving is going to be hard…I’m prepared for that…or as prepared as I’m going to be, I guess I should say. But at the same time, I’m grateful because I’m lucky enough to get this time with them. I get to see their sweet little faces every morning when they wake up and their smiles and hear their coos and giggles. I get to cuddle their little bodies and watch them roll over and try to crawl. I’m with them all day, every day…me. They’re happy little guys, and I’m a part of their world. I’d say that’s a pretty lucky place to be. But that’s just me. 🙂

xoxo MESSIE

my two little loves. <3
my two little loves. ❤
Leave a Reply

