THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Depression Defined. August 30, 2014

Filed under: GRIEF & LOSS,LIFE — MESSIE @ 12:26 am
Tags: , , ,
#MaydayParade

#MaydayParade

I’m a little late, but I’ve had this post written for weeks now and just finally got around to uploading it. It’s about Robin Williams…

I still can’t believe that he’s really dead. I really can’t. Moreover, I can’t believe he did it by killing himself. It’s just so ironic, you know? That the man who made millions laugh, myself included, had a darkness so intense inside him that it drove him to kill himself. It’s just crazy. And unfortunate.

I don’t usually get emotional when it comes to celebrities and their deaths. I mean, why would I–I don’t know them. They don’t know me. I mean, I care…because despite their celebrity status, they are still human beings. They have the same feelings and their very own drama, just like the rest of us. They’re just people…granted they’re people who get paid millions of dollars and bathe in luxury…but they’re still people. They matter, too.

I don’t think people are crazy to be so affected by the death of someone like Robin Williams, despite never having known or met the man. I mean, you grow up with these people in your world and on your TV in your homes for years, and it’s like they’ve become part of your fold. You don’t know them, but you feel like you do. It may not be entirely rational, but it’s true. It’s just the way it is.

It probably shouldn’t, but it bugs me to no end when I hear or read that Williams was selfish and how so many people are judging him for his final act. For starters, it’s NONE of their business. Secondly, they don’t have a fucking clue (excuse the language). The man was clearly struggling. He didn’t hide the fact that he was depressed or that he had issues with his mental health. He wasn’t afraid to lay it all out there or to be open about it all. If you ask me, that’s one of the bravest things you could ever do. To put your world under the microscope for everyone to see–the good AND the bad. It’s called honesty and it’s a trait that few people possess. He was one of them.

The way I see it, he was brave right up to the very end. I mean, how could he not be? He went out on stages and on television to entertain and bring joy to millions of people–even if just for a few minutes.  He made people forget about their crappy lives and forget that the world is an absolute freaking mess out there. And he did it even though he had no joy for himself. That says a lot about a person’s character. His character. Was it selfish for him to kill himself–I don’t think so. I mean, I’m sorry for his family and for all of those who knew and loved him…but it wasn’t selfish. After doing so much for others, he finally did one thing for himself. Don’t get me wrong–I am in no way condoning suicide, but I will uphold his right to do as he chose. It was his life and his pain. He had a right to want it to end. I know a lot of people disagree on that, but I don’t care. Those people didn’t have to live with it. They don’t know what he was going through or how he felt. No one does. Only he had those answers and he’s not here to defend himself.

They say that in death, he’s become the face of Mental Heath and Depression. And in a lot of ways, he really has. He made a lot of people wake up and recognize that it’s a real epidemic in this world. People are finally talking about and trying to do things to change it. People are finally starting to take notice, rather than ignore it like we have for so long. Personally, I think we’re too scared to talk about it because we’re afraid that if we do, we’ll have to admit that it exists…and we don’t want to do that. We don’t want to focus on death or the hard stuff. We’d rather pretend that everything is just peachy clean. If you ask me, it’s just plain sad.

While it’s tragic what happened to Williams, his death has helped so many people. People who are no longer ashamed to admit their emotions and fears and struggles. People who are no longer afraid to ask for help. People who will ask now that they know they aren’t alone…and that what they’re going through can and does happen to anyone. Even celebrities. Even people like Robin Williams.

No one’s immune.

No one.

#RIPRobinWilliams

xoxo Messie

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

