THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

And Sometimes They Do… October 13, 2014

Filed under: CANCER & LIFE'S HARDSHIPS,family — MESSIE @ 11:07 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Well, I guess miracles can and DO happen. My mother got the results of her PET scan back today…and she’s in remission! No signs of cancer! I think I’m still in a state of shock, to be honest. I know in my last post I was all out with the negativity and only thinking positive and all that kind of talk…but deep down, I was so scared that it had spread. Hell, I was terrified. Now, I’m literally shaking with relief…or shock…or both. Whatever it is, I don’t care, because it’s good news. Actually, it’s great news. It means that these past five months of hell and pain that she’s endured with chemo and tests and shots weren’t for nothing. Granted, this doesn’t mean its over yet. She’ll still have to have check-ups and get her counts checked every 3 months, and then every 6 for the next 5 years or so, but it’s something…and we’ll take it. Maybe hope IS all it’s cracked up to be. And maybe if you wish for something hard enough, it comes true. I don’t know if it was medicine or some God who did this, but whatever it was, I’m grateful. Extremely grateful.

It’s hard, but I wish we could have said the same for the uncle Dick, who lost his fight in June. It’s kind of bittersweet, celebrating my mother’s good news while still mourning my uncle, who ultimately didn’t have the same luck as she is having, but I’d like to think that he’d be happy for her and for us.

xoxo

MESSIE

deborah bald is beautiful 6.26.14

 

Leave a Reply

