There Are Monsters Among Us

I write this post with shaky hands and a heavy heart, for this topic cuts a little too close to home. I woke up this morning and scrolled through my news feed on Facebook, as I do most days, only to come across the unfortunate article from Friday confirming what I, and most assuredly a good portion of the nation, had feared…that the remains found in Virginia last week were in fact those of the missing college student, Hannah Graham.

I don’t like writing about these things because to be completely honest, the details just sicken me. They really, really do. And I try not to focus on evil like that. But for some reason, I feel the need to write today, to put my outrage to paper, so to speak. Not for me. But for Hannah Graham. I didn’t know her. Let me just make that clear. I never met her. I never even knew her name until I read it in the news when she went missing back in September. But I don’t need to have known her to know that she didn’t deserve the fate that she was dealt, to be sickened by the knowledge of what she must have gone through…how terrifying and horrible her last moments on this earth must have been for her. My heart breaks for her family and friends, complete strangers who right now, must be completely devastated. I can’t imagine the kind of hell her parents must be going through right now. Not only are they dealing with the loss of their child, but on top of that, having to know what she went through at the hands of her attacker–it’s every parent’s worst nightmare, right down to the sickest, cruelest detail. I mean, how do you live with that? How do you even process something like that? I can’t imagine it. I just can’t.

My heart breaks for Hannah. She was 18 years old. She was so young. So vibrant. So alive. She had everything going for her. Her whole life ahead of her. It’s stories like these that really make me question whether or not there’s a God…and how can you not? I mean, how does a loving God allow something so horrible–so undeniably evil–happen like that to someone? There’s no higher purpose in something like that. There’s no silver lining. There’s nothing good or loving about a God who allows something like that to happen, I don’t care what anyone says to the contrary.

I refuse to read the details of what they find out from here on out. I’ve already read enough in earlier articles about the previous women that were abducted and raped and beaten and killed…and honestly, I can’t read any more. It’s too much. I know this is America and we’re supposed to be all about “Innocent until proven guilty” but if you ask me, that’s total bullshit. This suspect they have in custody–if it turns out he did this–if his DNA matches and all that, then I say skip the trial and let’s go Middle Ages on his ass, excuse my language. Sorry, I know civil rights protesters would have a hey day with that statement right there, but you know what–I’d like those people to put themselves in Hannah Grahams’ parents shoes for a moment–and then try to spout their civil rights crap. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not in the habit of encouraging people to trample on the rights of others…that’s not something that I do. But when you abduct a person against their will, beat them, rape them, and then discard their lifeless body as if they were nothing more than a worthless piece of nothing–then NO–you do NOT get to keep your rights or be treated with respect or deemed innocent until proven guilty. What you DO get is to be treated like the piece of evil SCUM that you are. Say what you will, but Hammurabi knew his stuff. I say that the monster who did this to Hannah Graham–whomever he is–I say they skip a trial and take him out to the farm where he left Hannah’s body and do to him what he did to her, only worse. Make him suffer, just as he made her suffer. Then leave him to rot like the animal that he is.

They say that evil shouldn’t beget evil, but in this case–and cases like this–maybe it should. I, for one, would feel a hell of a lot safer in a world where someone like him no longer existed, that much I do know. Maybe I’m a horrible person for thinking it, but there are people in the world that don’t deserve to walk this earth. They just don’t. Child abusers and rapists and murderers…they walk free and among us every day. Neighbors, teachers, friends, relatives…evil exists. I’ve seen it. I’ve looked it in the eye. I don’t know what Hannah Graham went through in those last few hours of her life. I don’t even want to venture to guess. It’s sad and horrific, but it’s stories like hers that really put what I went through into perspective. I mean, I thought being assaulted at 16 was the worst thing that could have ever happened to me, but when I think about Hannah–I was lucky. I really was. Did that night change my life forever–yes. Irrevocably. Undeniably. Yes. But at least I survived. There are so many women, Hannah included, who will never have the chance to say that.

So today while I’m counting my blessings, my heart goes out to Hannah Graham’s family and her friends…and all the other Hannah’s out there. Even to those who never knew you…you are not a statistic. You are not forgotten. Rest in peace, girls.

MESSIE

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

