THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Oh Dear, It’s All Really Happening… December 16, 2014

Filed under: #NYtoTN,FRIENDS,TRAVELS — MESSIE @ 12:53 am
Tags: , , ,

Well, I just submitted my final paper for Western Civ…which means I’m officially and FINALLY done with the semester. I can’t even say how much of a relief that is. This semester has probably been the most stressful one I’ve had in my college career. I don’t know if its because of the fact that I was taking care of twins full-time while I took the classes or what–either way, all that matters is that I’m glad it’s over. I need the break…even if it is a short one.

The next few weeks are going to be absolutely insane. My sister and brother-in-law are closing on the house this week so this weekend we’re going to be busy moving and getting settled in the new place. Once we get that out of the way, it’ll be just in time for Christmas…then not even two weeks after that, I’ll be leaving for school in Nashville. Speaking of, I got my roommate assignments today…which is exciting! I was so worried they wouldn’t be able to fit me in for housing because I applied so last minute, but luckily they were able to…which is great news. I’m excited and anxious all at once. On the one hand, I can’t wait to move…and on the other, I’m totally flipping terrified. This is all going to be so new…new people, new places, new life. And no family around to fall back on. It’s scary. Really, really scary. It’ll be a switch living with roommates. We all have our own rooms in the townhouse, but still. The last time I had a roommate was years ago with the Bestie and before that, at Colgate. Since then, I’ve either been on my own or living with family, so it’s definitely going to take some getting used to again. I’m really hoping we all get along. I really don’t want this to be a repeat of Colgate where, with the exception of my roommate and my ex, I pretty much kept everyone else at a distance. I don’t want to do that this time. I want it to be a good experience. I want to go out and do things in Nashville…see places…meet new people. This is my opportunity to do things right. I don’t want to pass that up. Not this time around.

So, this is all really happening! My head is spinning just thinking about it. There’s so much to do before I go. On top of everything else, I have to try and find a time for me and the Bestie to get together. It’d be horrible if I moved and didn’t get together with her. She’d be pissed. It’s sure going to be weird though. I mean, we literally haven’t hung out in over a year and a half. Granted, we talk on Facebook now and then, but it’s not the same as having that face-to-face interaction. I feel like so much has happened that it’s almost too much to be able to catch up on in one sitting. But, it’s all we’re going to get–and even if we do get it, we’ll be lucky. I’m a little sad that I’m going to be moving so far away from her. I know this is something that I have to do and that this is just a part of growing up…growing apart. But still, it’s sad. It’s always been me and her against the world. She’s always been there. Now there’s going to be 900 some odd miles between us. God knows what that’s going to do to our friendship. It’s going to change it, I know that. It’s inevitable. I just hope it’s strong enough to withstand the distance because I know most friendships aren’t. Hopefully ours is an exception to that because I think I’d be lost without her in my life. She’s like my other half, in a strange, non-lesbian kind of way. Who knows, maybe she’ll wise up and decide to move down and say to heck with the Valley and her boy toy. Wishful thinking, I know. Oh well. A girl can hope, right?

Well, I’ve got a long day tomorrow–or should I say today–so until next time…

xoMESSIE

 

Leave a Reply

