THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Home Sweet Home. January 18, 2015

Filed under: #NYtoTN — MESSIE @ 12:46 am
Tags: , , , ,

Well, I’ve been in Nashville for officially ONE week now…and have yet to feel even the slightest bit homesick for New York. Naturally, I miss my family and friends there, but I don’t miss the place. It’s weird how that is. How you can just leave a place you’ve spent 27 years of your life in and travel to some place completely out of your comfort zone, and actually feel secure there. I love it here. I almost feel guilty for saying that, but I do. Nashville is a beautiful city with so much culture and opportunity. Things that are sorely lacking back in New York.

Tennessee line just changed my mind

And it’s MY heart I’ll follow this time…

One of the biggest differences I’ve noticed since moving here is how much faster everything moves back in New York. It’s like everyone there is rushing through the day just to get to the next. They don’t have a chance to just stop and enjoy the little things in life, the little moments, the important things. It’s not like that down here. Life is so much slower down here…in a good way. You can actually appreciate things for what they are. There’s this lake right by the Res Halls that the campus kind of frames, and I was out there this morning for I don’t even know how long. I just sat there, basking in the sun (it was a beautiful 50-something degrees out today!), watching the ripples in the lake from the breeze…and it was so peaceful. And beautiful. It felt like…dare I say it…it felt like home. Which is crazy, I know. I mean, I’ve only been here a week. I shouldn’t feel so settled here, at least not this quickly. But I do. I really, truly do. I’ve always liked to think that everything happens for a reason…and my moving here to Nashville is no exception. Something brought me here. Something made me choose this city to go to school and to live. I’d like to think that it was meant to be. That whatever it was that brought me here, it was fated. Like this is where I’m supposed to be. For so long, I felt like I’ve only been half-living, just going through the motions, not really caring what the future held in store for me. But that’s all different now. That feeling is gone. I feel alive here, for the first time in ages, and it feels good. It feels right

Watkins By The Lake

Watkins By The Lake

xoMESSIE

 

Leave a Reply

