THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Looking Up. January 22, 2015

Filed under: #NYtoTN,SCHOOL/CAREERS — MESSIE @ 12:12 am
Tags: , ,

Well, the long weekend–I don’t have any classes on Friday and classes were cancelled Monday in observance of MLK Day–has come to a close. Thank goodness–I might add–all this free time has been driving me slowly insane. The roommates went home for the weekend, so I had the apartment all to myself. It was quiet and peaceful…and boring as hell. 🙂 So to fill some of that free time–I swear I’ve developed some kind of adult-onset ADD these days–I went on a couple of driving excursions. In addition to Nashville, I’ve now been to Franklin, Madison, and Ashland City–all cities in middle Tennessee. I made the mistake Friday night of riding around and got stuck in 7 lines of rush hour traffic on the I-65…lesson learned–never doing THAT again. Despite that little driving/judgement gaffe on my part, I’m actually getting really good with all these interstates. I’m not nearly as intimidated by all the different connections as I was the first couple of times I drove them. I can officially get to/from Walmart and Nashville West now without the use of the GPS…hooray for that success!! 🙂

Things have been going really well down here. Great, actually. Admittedly, I’m a little surprised at just how great things are and how well it’s going. I won’t lie–I had some reservations going into this. Before I moved here to Nashville, I had some concerns about how this was going to turn out. I thought for sure that it wasn’t going to work or go well. After all, in my experience–things have a way of going awry. More often than not, I tend to somehow jinx myself and end up ruining everything. That old saying “you’re your own worst enemy”–yeah, that’s me. I’m a hot mess even on my good days. I was afraid that I’d get here and hate it–that it’d turn out to be yet another mistake, one of many–and I’d end up running back home to New York. Thankfully, that didn’t happen. I love it here. The city, the people, the amazing weather–I love everything about Nashville. As much as I miss my family and friends back home, I have yet to feel homesick. I’m not exactly sure if that’s a good thing or not–but I’d like to think that it is. I feel like I’m right where I’m supposed to be, for the first time in a really long time. I don’t think I made a mistake in moving here. Just the opposite actually. I think this move was one of the best decisions I could’ve made–and did make–for myself. I’ve only been here a little more than a week, but already I feel like a completely different person. I feel content. And happy. Which for me–is no small feat, I might add.

Today was even better. I got some good news from a job I applied for last week and they want me to come in for an interview this Friday. It’s awesome. If things pan out, they’ll work around my class schedule, which is just perfect. Also, it could end up being a permanent thing, which would be even better. Unfortunately, it’d also mean that I’d be getting a place of my own down here and staying for good, instead of heading back to NY for the summer once the semester ends. Who knows…I’ll guess I’ll just have to wait and see what happens and go from there. Until then…

xoMESSIE

 

 

Leave a Reply

