THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

A Fine, Fine Mess. January 23, 2015

Filed under: #NYtoTN,LIFE,SCHOOL/CAREERS — MESSIE @ 10:29 pm
Tags: , , ,

Yeah, so I’m a crying-freakin’-mess at the moment…just finished watching the latest Parenthood episode, and um…yeah. To those of you that have watched the show from the beginning and stuck by it through its entirety–I needn’t give an explanation.  I’m sure you know exactly what I’m talking about. Chances are you’ve spilled a few tears of your own over these past few episodes, and last night’s especially. For those of you that haven’t seen the show…well, for starters, you’re really missing out. I highly suggest you sit down with your Netflix and have yourself a Parenthood marathon. You won’t be disappointed. Yes–the show is that good!

To give a little synopsis of the show for those of you that haven’t seen or even heard of it, it’s about families. That is, just one in particular–the Braverman family. It’s a really good show that realistically portrays the inner workings and nuances of a normal family and the relationship/bond they all have with one another. They’re loud and opinionated and dysfunctional…just like my family. I don’t want to spoil it for those that haven’t seen it yet, but again…I urge  you to check it out!

Anyhow…the show makes me think of my family. And for the first time since I got here, I’m starting to miss them…and home. Mostly them. It’s just weird not seeing them like I’m used to. I miss them just being there.  All the noise and the dysfunction and the constant drama–I didn’t think I would, but I miss it. It’s so quiet here, you know? There’s no constant sound of the kids running around and playing or the adults sitting around bickering with one another. All that was frustrating when I was there…but now, it kind of feels like something is missing. I don’t know how to explain it, it’s just…something. Maybe it’s the chaos. I mean when you grow up around enough of it, it’s almost like you don’t know how to function without it…so you miss it. Not enough to move back there…just a little bit. I can’t hardly wait to see everyone in April when I go up to surprise Bug for her birthday. It seems like a lifetime from now, but I know it’ll go by fast. It always does.

In other news, I had my interview at the Science Center today. It went really well, I think. The place kind of reminds me of this interactive kids museum out in Rochester that we took the kids to a few times, only it’s more science-y. It’s really neat and the lady that interviewed me was really nice. If it works out, that’ll be great, but even if it doesn’t, there’s plenty of other job opportunities for me down here. I’ve already applied to several places, and a couple of internship programs that start in late spring/early summer. I’m in no rush to get everything figured out right away though. I only just got here. I have all the time in the world. And I’m in this amazing city…I can wait…happily.

xoMESSIE

 

 

Leave a Reply

