THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

In Nature, She Went. April 17, 2015

Filed under: LIFE — MESSIE @ 3:10 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, so I don’t know if it’s the Tennessee air or what, but I swear that since I’ve been here, I’ve turned into a total nature junkie. It’s kind of ridiculous, actually…but a good sort of ridiculous, I think.

Anyhow…so my friend Hannah and I took a little drive out to Bellevue last Friday to this place called Newsom’s Station. It used to be the site of an 18th Century settlement-turned Ghost Town, but now it’s just a little Tennessee State Park/Natural Area with a couple of easy trails that run parallel to the Harpeth River. A classmate of ours had suggested the place and thought we’d get some good shots there for our final project. Hannah’s doing hers on man-made structures/objects that have essentially been overgrown by nature. I originally planned on doing light painting for mine–even went out and got a boatload of LED lights and glow-sticks and laser pointers to use for it–but I think I’m going to change it and do something with nature instead. I mean, I literally have hundreds of nature shots of places in and around Nashville that are just sitting in their folders on my hard drive that I haven’t yet really had the opportunity to use, so I might as well use them, you know.

I kind of have this really strange, probably unhealthy obsession and fascination with trees right now. Being here, I’ve had the opportunity to get up close and personal with nature…and the chance to notice the little things. Like tree bark, for instance…it’s so pretty. And if you get right in there and close up to it, you’ll see this array of colors that is just incredible. I think a lot of take nature for granted and we don’t really see or even bother to look for the beauty that’s out there. But it’s out there. And it’s breathtaking.

Anyways, Hannah and I got a late start, so by the time we got there, the park ranger was already in the process of locking the gates for the night. Of course, that didn’t stop us. There was this section in back of the park that we really had wanted to check out, so we jumped the locked gate with the big old “NO TRESPASSING” sign. That is, I jumped it. Hannah’s a little more conservative when it comes to rule-breaking, so she was a little hesitant. I convinced her to “live a little” and we went off exploring. Eventually we stumbled across this old graffiti-covered structure that was partially obscured by the vine growth nearby and some shack-similar structures that clearly hadn’t been used or lived in for a long time. We both managed to get some nice shots before we lost what was left of daylight and had to turn back.

After class this afternoon, I decided to head out there again and do some more shooting. It was great. I got some nice shots of various colored tree barks and other foliage. I even hiked down by the ruins to the riverbanks. With all the rain we’ve gotten lately, the river was noticeably higher than it had been when I’d gone there with Hannah last week. Risk-taker that I am, I ventured out on this concrete slab in the river to get up close and personal with the river currents. Some guy happened to be driving over the bridge (which gives a clear vantage point of where I was) and actually stopped and walked over to the railing. If he said anything, I was too far away to hear. He did stand there and watch me for a couple of minutes, giving me this weird look. I’m pretty sure he thought I was crazy being out there. Oh well. I just ignored him and went about with my shooting. Now, if he’d stuck around maybe 15 minutes longer, he’d have really seen CRAZY. Yeah, dummy that I am, I decided to venture out on some nearby railroad tracks. There I am snapping away in the middle of the tracks trying to get these really great perspective shots…and wouldn’t you know it, I hear this really loud horn/whistle thing behind me. So, I turn around and yeah, a train was coming. Total buzz kill. It was plenty far away, so I had more than enough time to get off…but still, probably not a good idea to be messing around on railroad tracks…note to self.

This weekend’s another road/photo trip…but here’s some pics from today’s adventure…

xoMESSIE

IMG_5203

IMG_5204

IMG_5231

IMG_5243

IMG_5246

IMG_5267

IMG_5268

IMG_5281

IMG_5292

IMG_5303

IMG_5341

IMG_5343

IMG_5347

IMG_5356

IMG_5362

IMG_5383

IMG_5406

 

Leave a Reply

