THE TRUTH IS MESSIE…

My e-journal, all the nitty-gritty, overly-emotional, sappy stuff…

Too Much Information. June 17, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — MESSIE @ 10:58 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, so I know I’ve said it before, but this whole “being an adult” thing…yeah, it really REALLY sucks. You know, sometimes I wonder what it all was that our parents and teachers and other adult figures were teaching us while we were growing up because from where I’m standing, I don’t feel like I was prepared for any of this. Hell, I actually looked forward to growing up, becoming an adult…having all this power and responsibility and being the one in control of my life–I couldn’t wait…and now–now I’d give anything to just turn back the clock and be a kid again. It was all so much easier then. It’s not the greatest metaphor, but this whole idea of “adulthood” is like when you’re a little kid and you still believe in Santa Claus and everything is shiny and magical. Until someone bursts your bubble and you find out it’s not true, and all of a sudden you feel like everything in your life has been a lie. And little by little, the world starts to lose little pieces of its shine and its magic. It’s a letdown to the highest degree. And it sucks. God, does it suck…

 

This whole car accident situation is just ridiculous…and seriously preying on my nerves. Today was insane. I lost count of how many people from the insurance company I spoke with, and then the appraiser guy came by to do the estimate on the damages…the result of which weren’t that great. Apparently the insurance company has a policy where if the damages exceed 75 percent of the total market price of the vehicle, it’s cheaper for them just to call it a total loss. That’s what they’ve done. Apparently there was more damage than I could tell when I looked at it. The back is mostly just cosmetic, which isn’t a big deal for me. In the front though, I guess the collision pushed the bumper back and some metal rod thing in there, which shifted the radiator or A/C condensor…or something (yeah, I have no clue when it comes to cars…literally none), which is gonna cost a pretty penny in parts and labor to repair, so it jacked up the damages cost. Anyhow, the report he sent me was like reading gibberish. I didn’t have a clue what any of it meant, so I just forwarded it to my mother and told her to decide what she wanted to do…seeing how technically the car’s in her name and its her insurance policy (because the guy that hit me, turns out–didn’t have insurance…yep), and she knows more about these things than I do.

 

Then there’s this whole personal injury claim. There’s two other people dealing with that part and were calling me nonstop today for information and whatnot. Honestly, I didn’t even/still don’t want to deal with it. I just wasn’t in the mood. My knee hurts like hell and I still have the headache from when I was in the ER the other night after the accident. I figured it was just from crying or stress or something and that it’d go away…but no. Not even the high-dose Ibruprofen and Vicodin I’m taking for my knee has helped with it. It sucks. So, it looks like I’ll be heading back to the ER tomorrow or Thursday. Wonderful. Just what I need. Anyhow, the one guy handling the claim wanted to make a settlement offer right today…which I was smart enough to hold off on. Honestly, I told him to just call my mother and ask her what she wanted/thought I should do…but he wouldn’t. Apparently, even though the car’s in her name and she’s the policy holder on the insurance, I was the one driving and the one injured so they have to deal with me about it, so far as the personal injury portion goes. So I had to answer the questions and send all the forms and whatnot. I talked to my mother and father and even my sister and everyone pretty much ordered me to get in touch with a lawyer before I consider any kind of settlement offer…so to please them I called a firm up in New York and they’re supposed to be getting back in touch with me tomorrow with some answers to the questions I asked. Honestly, it’s all so annoying. I know it’s something I have to deal with, but I really don’t want to at the moment.

 

So yeah, that was my day. And I get the feeling it’s only getting started…and not in a good way… lucky me.

 

xoMESSIE

 

Leave a Reply

